Global Attitude

By GlobalAttitude

Duck, Duck, Goose!

Happy Birthday, America!

As promised yesterday, another red-white-and-blue blip! Today was tough. Very. I know I'll be celebrating on Saturday, but it feels all wrong. I should have been in Baker Park all afternoon, then celebrating my niece's birthday with sparklers in her cake, and then rocking out to a fantastic concert and fireworks. Typically, the July 4th weekend was filled with 3-4 parties and concerts and I hated it just being a plain, ordinary work and school day. I did. I hated it. And I don't like using that awful h-word.

The morning started off nice enough: enjoyed a yoga class with my girlfriends. Then I had a couple hours of work representing one of my interpretation clients at a home inspection. Later I completed some of the gift-shopping for my upcoming trip back to the US - need to bring all the family nice things from Germany. It felt particularly wrong to be in a shopping mall on a day when it should be closed so we can all celebrate. But in an odd way, since I was shopping for loved ones back home, it made me feel a bit connected to them.

Tonight I sorted the decorations for the party and made the first round of blue jello vodka shots. Can't have an Independence Day party without red & blue shooters :)

For today's listening and viewing pleasure, from my home, America the Beautiful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.