Freedom, friends & fun

Freedom + Friends + Fireworks = Fabulous Fun!

This year for American Independence Day, we welcomed our (mostly English expat) friends to a "Freedom from British tyranny celebration and housewarming party" at our new home.

I'm overwhelmed at what awesome friends we have - so creative & fun. The brilliant Emma created another fabulous cake for the occasion - and in friendly revenge for my tongue-in-cheek party title - she crafted a culinary masterpiece with the colonial American flag on the outside but an incredible surprise inside - sliced open, the red, white & blue cake & icing layers showed the Union Jack flag! I didn't get a photo of the cut cake as I was laughing so hard (and wielding a large knife) - but hopefully KettwigeFrau will blip it.

Another super-creative friend incorporated the traditional bread & salt welcoming gift into a beautiful red, white, and blue flower arrangement - using a round loaf as a vase and cracking salt around the slate it was set upon.

Not to be left out of the festivities, my dear friend Kristi sent a huge package of decorations for the event - including colorful flip flops I wore - so she and her lovely family were with us in spirit.

And to top it all off, my fabulous friends chipped in to buy me a beautiful set of "faded glory" cushions throw pillows to go in my red & blue "Americana" room that several of them helped paint. I'd been coveting the sofa accessories since spotting them in a store window - somehow they knew this and tracked them down for me.

I'm so blessed :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.