There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

In Which the Garden Outgrows Its Name

It was a beautiful day to travel, and my husband and I did a thing I've been wanting to do for a long time. We drove to Mom & Dad's house, and I dug up some plants and transported them back home to Stormstown, where most of them ended up in Barb's Butterfly Garden slash Ellen's Bulb Garden slash the Lee and Norma Colyer Memorial Garden. (The name, at this point, is bigger than the garden!)

I should have taken more pics of the flowering plants in their original habitat in Mom & Dad's yard before I dug them up, and I'm sure this is NOT the right time of year to do it for some of these, but what the heck, now is when I did it. So there. It's done. The only thing I didn't get was roses, because, as it turns out, I apparently don't have a clue about how to transplant roses. Hmm.

Included in the "Noah's Ark" I brought along home with me were three colors of lilacs (deep purple, white, and regular purple), bleeding heart, peonies (that bloomed every year in mid-June, on my parents' wedding anniversary), and lily of the valley (which ended up on the shady north side of the house instead of in this garden).

There aren't any Bunzinis in this particular photo, but I was well accompanied by rabbits. A few minutes after I took this shot, one of the larger Bunzinis, very calm, very chill, came out and hung around at the back of this area. "Hello, Bunzy," I said, which is my standard Bunzini greeting. The tiniest, newest Bunzini made a brief appearance, but ran back under a nearby brush pile. So I have received the full Blessing of the Bunzinis on this effort.

In this shot, you may see my shovel, gloves, colorful container of purloined plants, water, camera bag, several small pieces of fencing, and one plant pot of potting soil. And of course, in the garden, you may see the pink flamingos and the two fun new metal pieces of yard art I installed last week.

I planted everything and got it in ground and fenced and watered before dark on this night, so nothing was out of dirt for more than a couple of hours. I hope that makes a difference.

Lord, bless this plot, and let it help me remember them all with love and smiles, and FLOWERS!

Here's hoping it all grows and blooms!

My soundtrack song is Savage Garden, with To the Moon and Back. Which is how much I loved them, and always will!!! <3

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.