There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

A Flamboyance of Pink Flamingos

A bunch of pretty blooms have popped up in Ellen's bulb garden, and thankfully, some of them are pink, which was Ellen's favorite color. Good deal, all the way around. You may read more about Ellen's bulb garden here and here.

I was sitting on the front porch and noticed the pink flamingos I'd bought last summer lying under a table on the porch. I realized that the snowing time is probably done, and that it is time to put the showy birds back out in the garden, where they belong. The praying mantises will be so glad!

So here is a happy scene from this day, in which the pink flamingos make their triumphant return to the bulb garden! And yes, a group of them is called a flamboyance. Isn't that wonderful?

And yes, I do find that I have a thing or two to say about it all. I have lost some people in the past few years. Some really important ones. Some people who have helped make me who I am, made me HOW I am, gave me a lot of what I hold inside. 

I have had some losses that have just about GUTTED me. The best I can do is to hold onto the good memories, appreciate the times we had together and what they gave me, and try to make my life into something beautiful, in their honor. So here is a little something fun - and pink! - that I have made for Ellen, to make her smile as she watches over me.

I need a soundtrack song, and here is a recent personal favorite: Joan Baez, with Welcome Me. I acquired it on a 1995 album called Ring Them Bells, and it came onto my tunes box two days in a row when I put it on shuffle. Which means something, I think. 

Have you ever had a song that you've heard before, and now you hear it again, and somehow it just hits you differently? Well, it hit me in the heart somehow, and I've been singing it for days. Maybe if I post it here, I can move on, LOL! This live version is actually a better version than the one on Ring Them Bells. Enjoy!

I'll be the first to praise the sun
The first to praise the moon
The first to hold the lone coyote
The last to set it free
I say . . . welcome me



P.S. I'm sorry I didn't identify everything before this. Those colorful flowers in front, with the flamingos, are hyacinths. There are yellow daffodils in the background. And in the far background, the taller yellow plants are forsythia.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.