There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

The Invasion of the Pink Flamingos!

I have been wanting, for some time, to pick up some pink flamingos to grace my friend Ellen's bulb garden. And then, one day this week, I was at the Dollar Tree, when I saw the lady in front of me at checkout had some. Shortly after that, I had located the showy birds, and popped several into my cart!

And so it was that on this day, there was an invasion of pink flamingos (a group of which is called a flamboyance). Oh yes, Tiny Tiger and Lil RBG had to hop on and ride them. You knew that from the start, right? And yes, those are Tibetan prayer flags in the upper left; they move every time the wind blows.

The pink flamingos needed a little bit of work. First, their feet would not stay in place, so I used museum putty to fix them in one spot. Then they kept falling over, so I've propped them up against tiny trellises. But the end result was pleasing. Sometimes whimsy takes a bit of work; don't you find that too?  ;-)

My soundtrack song for the pink flamingo riders is Christopher Cross, with Ride Like the Wind!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.