Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Giving Me The Finger

For the second time in the last week, I found myself with a tiny hitchhiker when I was out in the garden.  I felt a little tickle on my hand, looked down and was greeted with ... this!  Happily, I had the d850 with a macro lens in hand and he was on my left hand, so I managed to get some shots off before he started playing hide-n-seek on my finger.  At one point, I thought I'd found the perfect spot to leave him (a hosta plant in a shady spot) and I gently flicked him onto a leaf.  Well, no sooner had I congratulated myself than I saw him racing up his silk lifeline which was attached to...you guessed it, my finger.  This went on for several more attempts before I finally got him settled.  It apparently doesn't take much to entertain me.  Anyway, you can kind of get an idea how tiny he is because that's the end of my pointer finger (and I don't have particularly large hands).

I'm still dealing with this very annoying cold, but the cough is now clearing which just leaves me with a massively stuffy head.  And Hubs pointed out that we are in the midst of spring allergies too so that isn't helping.  

It's a gorgeous, warm day outside which I can only enjoy cautiously as I'm still taking the doxycycline which causes sun sensitivity.  I have, however, donned long sleeves, a hat and sunscreen and managed to have a little time enjoying it all.  The catbirds have started vocalizing which is always very amusing as their songs are really a series of seemingly unconnected noises, some of which sound very catlike.  

Oh, and in nest box news - when I checked the recently relocated bluebird box yesterday, I found one perfect blue egg had been laid.  She will lay one egg per day until her clutch is complete (4-6 eggs) and then I will start the countdown to hatch.  And I will also hope that the large black bear who's been spotted in our woods doesn't bother the box.  It is always a worry and I have lost several broods of bluebirds and wrens over the years to bears.  Not to mention the nest boxes get demolished in the process.  So, fingers crossed.

Cheers!
xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.