Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Let's Hear it for the Ladies

Usually this time of year, the female redwing blackbirds are down in the marsh attending to nesting while the males hang out at the Bistro in our garden.  So when I spotted her this morning, I snuck out and grabbed a few shots.  This is one of the bird species where the female and male look radically different, with the males being black with red/yellow shoulders and larger in size.  But the females, when you have the chance to see their varied plumage with little brushes of yellow are really quite striking in their own way.  See the male HERE

I've been mostly snoozing today.  Sore throat is gone but the cough has knocked me out.  I'm sure I'll start to feel better by tomorrow.  

Migration is getting into full swing now.  There was a catbird hanging out eating suet today while I heard a Great Crested Flycatcher somewhere in the woods.  At one point today, it was like a full blown symphony in the woods/garden with so many birds singing their courtship songs.  Good for the soul.

Off to make a cup of tea with lemon and honey now...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.