River of Flowers

By doffy

Friday: Potatoes

Whilst I was looking at DNA matches yesterday I’d noticed someone with close relatives from Anglesey, in fact he was related to my great-great grandfather on my Mum’s side, with a clear head this morning I finally confirmed it was correct. I composed my message to my cousin and realised that they had messaged me in January and I was glad that I’d solved a mystery … can’t wait for their reply!

Weather was a little warmer by late morning so I went out to the garden, I was on standby for a delivery man and a motorbike for MrD. Whilst I waited I emptied last year’s compost onto large trays to dry out … this was used this afternoon in my planters (today’s Blip). A thick layer of coarsely chopped pink comfrey - then 3 large sprouting red potatoes (left over from the ones we’ve been eating all winter), a thin layer of grass mowings and a thicker layer of homemade compost. I’ve put wire trays as protection over the tops otherwise the blackbirds would have lots of fun digging when I’m not looking …!! More compost will be added as the potato stems grow, until the planters are full … hopefully with lots of “new potatoes” :-)

MrD and I had been discussing Anglesey local potatoes and he’d seen the stall in its usual place this afternoon - £6.50 a kilo this year or £7 for washed, see last year which was exactly a year to the day - https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/3100509240599512446 - and MrD bought half a sack of old potatoes at the market last week for £12, which may last until our home grown ones are ready.

Loads of love and hugs to all my family / Cariad Mawr XXXX XXX XX

Nos da pawb / Goodnight all XXXX XXX XX

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.