An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Windows to the past...

David's cousin Cilla is visiting Scotland from Canada and is coming to see us on 15th May.  

I've never met Cilla before as she was in Canada long before D and I met, so I am really looking forward to seeing her.  She is bringing with her two of David's mum's cousins, Tom who we've not seen for at least 12 years, and Elsie, who is also David's God-Mother.  It's a long time since we've seen her (at least 20 years.  She's well into her 80s now.)  

They are coming for afternoon tea and I plan to serve it on David's mum's wedding china tea set.  It feels appropriate :-)

This afternoon I decided to go through the two boxes of photographs D brought from his mum's house when she passed away.  I wanted to see if there were any photos that might be on interest to our visitors. 

Looking through old photographs is one of my favourite things to do, and something I thought would take me half an hour, ended up engrossing me for nearly three!  

I did manage to find a number of photos that will be of interest to our visitors, including professional shots of Cilla and her brother Colin when they were toddlers.  

The photos that particularly made me smile I've included in my main blip.  They are - 
David's Great Grandparents (his paternal grandmother's parents top two photos ) Golf clearly runs in the family :-)
David's mum and his sister Ele (six years before D arrived :-) 
David's paternal grandfather, Herbert, a policeman in Glasgow
David's dad with his parents at his graduation from Glasgow University.
David's mum and dad with his maternal grandparents.  His gran is around sixty-two years of age in that photo (the same age as her granddaughter is in this photo:-)  They aged faster back then! 

Whilst I loved going through all the photos, my favourite is David's mum and Dad's wedding album.  I never knew David's dad as he sadly passed away when David was 13 years old, but these photos bring him close. 

D and I were married in the same church as D's parents and I couldn't resist putting the photo of them in the church on their wedding day, taken from the balcony, with a photo from our wedding day, taken from the same place.   Our wedding pic is on the bottom.  

No choir at our wedding and sadly no church organ either, as it broke down the week before our wedding.  D's mum's cousin is out of shot playing an electric organ brought in from the Church Hall for the occasion so all was not lost :-)

Two wedding pics, same church, same veil (D's mum's veil was my something borrowed) thirty-two years apart almost to the day. 

Weddings seem to be the theme this week!  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.