carliewired

By carliewired

87 F/ 31 C

Summer is making
a show - flip flops, tank tops and
skinny shorts show up! 

~carliewired

At 5:30 AM I was taking my first shot from my deck. I see some haze as we have wildfires in the north of the province. Fort Nelson and Fort MacMurray have been evacuated. I fear we have a year of hazards already upon us. 

The Japanese Cultural Centre on our north shore was hosting an art show this weekend. My friend, J and I were the first in the door this morning. The building has been a feature since about 1993. It is really lovely with many keepsakes on display. The inside doors are beautiful cherry blossoms. The main hall was well organized with paintings and other merchandise arranged for viewing. 

There were two pieces that I could not resist. The oil painting of the three big horn sheep made by my painting buddy, M is so appealing to me. It must come to live at my house. The multi-media piece with the robin and daffodils is delightful. I'd like to learn how to do that myself. It will grace my walls. 

J and I stopped for refreshments before heading home. I arrived back to inhale the heady fragrance of lilacs in my garden. This bush was from my Mother's garden at the coast. I am always well pleased when it is in full bloom on May 11th, my Mother's birthday. She would be 103 today. 

So, I'm home for the day now, having spent my art budget and overworked my cranky feet. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.