Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Commercial

(12/5/24)

The day at work passed happily enough. I even had company during lunch. :))

G picked me up and whizzed me home. As we turned into the car park, right in the middle was a truck with two portaloos. One for men and the other for ladies. How about that? I noticed this "tent" in the garden, and as luck would have it, someone came walking along. He was wearing a COP 28 Media t-shirt and filled me in on what was going on.

It was a camera crew filming a commercial for Amazon Prime! They are filming for three countries - Egypt, Saudi Arabia and Dubai (!). The filming on the main street is for Egypt! Who knew that parts of Karama resemble Egypt? Anyway, being in a hurry to get back to work, I didn't walk to the main street to see what was happening there.

The tent in the garden was the dining room. It had tables, chairs and fans. Unfortunately, by the time the sun had gone down a bit (the lighting was harsh at 3 PM), the tables had been packed away. By 5 PM, they had moved on. I would love to see the finished product.

We had delicious homemade rocket and potato soup before venturing out to meet with colleagues Shveta and Hannah at Sibul. I thought we'd be there an hour but stayed much longer. It was hot and humid, and we all might have got bitten by mossies. Argh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.