Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

A load of Bull

I didn't sleep at all well last night, so had to make up for it today. That's why it was 5:45 pm by the time picked up the camera, opened the door, braved the bight sunshine, and left the house.

Clogherhead had suggested itself as the place to go, but I overshot somewhat and ended up in Carlingford instead, with a few stops on the way for a bit of blipping. I spotted this between Dundalk and Carlingford, reversed, parked and blipped it. It certainly is a monument to the beef industry.

Carlingford needs to be re-visited some time soon. Actually, I should have stopped there, but had got a notion into my head of continuing on to Warrenpoint. I continued along the shore of Carlingford Lough, crossing from one jurisdiction to another in the process. Not so long ago there would have been a customs checkpoint: now the only thing that marks the 'border' is a sign that says speed limits have changed from our km/h to miles/h.

By the time I got to Newry I'd decided against Warrenpoint, since that would have involved doubling back on myself by too much, so I went back to Carlingford for a more extended stop. I was too late to eat in the place I decided on, so headed back home instead, getting back to my own door just after 10:00 pm. It had been a really pleasant drive, passing through some wonderful scenery on the way.

Clogherhead tomorrow, that's the plan. We shall see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.