KITTIWAKES

Neil was up at 5am, caught the 6am bus to Newcastle and the 7am coach to Manchester Airport. I wasn't intending to see him off but I was woken up by the sound of him being sick!. He said he was OK - just exhausted after his 8 days at work with late nights etc. I expect he was able to catch up with some sleep whilst on his coach journey. I know he made it to the airport as I saw a photo on his Facebook page of 2 large bottles of vodka bought at duty free - his contribution to the Bamsekram Summer Reunion Party. Don't expect to hear from him while he's away but I imagine he's having a great time. ( As predicted he wasn't keen on the bag I bought him so he has crammed his stuff into a very small backpack )

I had heard there were Kittiwake babies on the ledge of The Baltic Art Gallery - Newcastle Quayside - where the Kittiwakes have been nesting. So I decided to go and take a look. Managed to spot a couple of the young ones which were near the viewing platform. The adult birds were very raucous. Photos were taken through the glass window so not as sharp as I would have liked.

Did some shopping in the big new-ish Tesco in Gateshead before coming home. Its been a really hot and sticky day today and bus travel was not pleasant.

Think the local comprehensive school must be having an outdoor end of term party this evening as the sound of loud, live music has almost been drowning out my TV. Patio doors are open to let some fresh air in and let the kitties pop in and out so I have been able to hear all the songs. Lots of eighties stuff by the sound of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.