I JUST RETURNED

from my journey to Amsterdam. A long day but a wonderful day it was.
Friend Cor met me at the Central Station and after we had fetched a bike for me we cycled first to the Beethovenstraat(situated in Old South) where we drank coffee at a terrace. Then he showed me where he, in much eartlier times, had had a bike repair shop.
Our goal after that was the Amstel Park. And that was a relevation for both of us.
We entered it on the red bridge entrance and the first special phenomenon we saw was one albino kangaroo and two normal ones and two alpakas.
The park has several special gardens, a heempark, a rosarium, tropical plants that in summer stood outside. A large pond and in the reed around it I spotted the dragonfly.
One went there on a long wooden bridge, I had to change my lense there and just as I had taken two pictures a man came from the other side. I gestured that I did take pictures but or he did not understand what I meant or he did not care at all, but in one movement he walked by and swept the dragonfly with him.
I was angry and shouted after him how stupid I found his behavior.
No reaction, perhaps he did not understand dutch, is possible and what would that have helped me. The dragonfly did not return.
We spent hours in the park, walking and resting, seated on a bench, and walking again.
Then the cycle tour back to the centre, the ferry over the IJ, drinking tea and dinner at the Thai restaurant, our usual one. Train and lightrail back. Tired, yes!

My haiku:

The bow that the sun
Travelled from the east and sank
In the west, a day

And the latin proverb:

The sun will blind you, if you persist in gazing at it.

Tomorrow I will catch up with your pictures again.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.