CONFUSION? YES OR NO?

A busy day it was. Although the garage was cleared, there remained one big job to do and that was going through the shelves of the cases that I had put at the left side. When my little room became a guest room, mainly for Mischa of course, I moved cases of all the stuff I had collected over the years, when I still was a bookseller and found the most interesting things in the old or newer books I had once bought. At some time I had made collages of parts of it, and had made piles of little collections, you know, bookmarks, stamps, publicity, railroad leaflets, portraits of authors (mostly French), articles on literature, politics, you name it!!
Now it was time to select what I wanted to keep and what could thrown away (forever).
But now and then I kept an eye at the buddleia, because of what I thought could be my blip for today.
And the I discovered this little insect, white with black spots and I was intriguied, and although she was a bit in the shadow I did my best.
Of course I looked into my guidebook and found two possibilities of who she could be.
The first one was a Myelois cribella, one of the little butterflies, but I could read there that she was often confused with ' Gespinstmotten'. The difference was the white brim at her backwings. Imagine this insect is tiny!
The latin name for the Gespinstmotte is: Yponomeuta padella. The names these little ones have given, so more beautiful than my won I think.
Fact is that they have both white wings with many spots on it.

My haiku:

First I thought she slept
Then I thought she was dead but
No, I saw her move

And the proverb:

Sick of the mulligrubs with eating chopped hay.

(= ill-tempered and grumbling) A mulligrub a very dull individual.

c.1620 in Beaumont and Flechtcher. Mons. Thomas

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.