Stalking the hummers

Way too hot again today to take a photo walk, so I stationed myself in the shade on our patio and stalked the hummingbirds. A male and a female showed up several times, but never together. They weren't hanging around very long because the wasps were in serious competition with the hummers for the sugar water. I felt lucky to capture this picture because they seemed to favor the opposite side of the feeder where I couldn't blip them from my post. Hope you like it!

One more day of excessive heat, and then we can expect some sightly cooler and less humid temperatures. That is if the forecasts are correct. Cross your fingers for the cool down.

After posting this picture I began to wonder why there was so much grain when I had set the ISO at 200 and the shutter speed at about 1/500. Apparently the camera decided to take things into its own "hands." I'm not very happy about that because that high ISO wasn't necessary. Urgh!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.