Would you believe?

In record setting temperatures and punishing humidity, the cross-country team from the local high school decided this would be a good time to start practice sessions. These girls raced up the stairs, dashed down the hill, and then stretched out on the grass to do sit-ups and other punishing exercises. I chatted with them a bit, wished them good luck and cooler temps when their season begins. Then I headed for home and my air-conditioned "office".

Yesterday's high in Cleveland was a blistering 98 degrees. So far this year we've had 17 days above 90 degrees and 10 daily high records have been broken. And no rain worth mentioning. A man who regularly walks in the park told me today that he can't wait for winter. I haven't said that yet, but I'm mighty tired of this heat. If I wanted this kind of weather, I'd move to Arizona.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.