SWANS IN FLIGHT

Had an appointment at the hairdressers in Newcastle this afternoon. Not really keen on having my hair cut but today it seemed to go well. I went somewhere new and Tony did a good job. He is a big Scottish chap with lots of tattoos and he was telling me all about The Newcastle Gay Pride event which he went to at the weekend with his boyfriend.

Afterwards I went on a blip hunt. As I was near the Civic Centre I decided to look around the grounds. The Civic Centre is the main administrative and ceremonial centre for Newcastle City Council. It was completed in 1967 and was formally opened by HM King Olav V of Norway on 14 November 1968.

My blip shows a sculpture by David Wynne called " Swans in Flight". There are five swans rising from the water which reflect the City's long established links with Scandinavia. The sculpture is inspired by Seedorf Pedersen's poem 'The Swans from the North' which represents each country as a wild swan in the order of their creation as independent States - Denmark, Sweden, Finland, Norway and Iceland.

We didn't seem to have the thunderstorms through the night which a lot of the North East had but everywhere was wet this morning so I guess it rained. It was really warm today and quite pleasant walking around town.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.