Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Stretching...

I've taken thousands of photos of hummingbirds but I've never gotten a shot like this with the beak wide open. In fact, I don't think I've ever even seen a wide-open hummie beak! And it looks like her little tongue is coiled in the back of her mouth. All very interesting, and made the choice of blip today pretty easy.

And I should mention that this ruby-throated hummingbirds don't sing, so my best guess is that this was a quick stretch.

Thank you for all the lovely comments on yesterday's hummingbird. I am deep into my summer love affair with the little birds now, so you'll probably be seeing a lot more of them. In two short months, most of them will be gone with only a few of the youngsters hanging around until mid-October. But let's not think about that just yet!

I spent a little time this afternoon in the garden and posted 7 other shots on Flickr, starting HERE if you'd care to have a look. Included are a shot of a snowberry clearwing moth (a less common visitor to my garden than the hummingbird clearwing), a chippie, a dragon and a few more looks at hummies.

It's Friday - YAY! And this weekend, two of my best friends are coming out for a little combined birthday celebration (both of them having July birthdays). The weather is supposed to be nice, so I'm sure we'll spend time on the deck, followed by cedar-planked salmon, wine and lots of laughs. I'll probably blip early tomorrow since I plan to be in no condition for blipping later in the evening! Ha!

Have a great weekend!

xxoo,
Debbi

PS: Brunhilda is still guarding the spidey-tots. I think she waved at me today...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.