La vida de Annie

By Annie

Prickly today...

...after no sleep and excruciating pains in my leg I decided to take myself into the local walk-in centre. Usual hanging around scenario waiting for triage then more waiting to see a nurse. Lots of standard questions later (Am I pregnant? Er no, do you always ask senior citizens that?), and noting that there were no physical symptoms (heat, swelling, rash, bruising etc), it was suggested that we should rule out a DVT since I had recently taken a flight and before that had undergone a long operation (about 5-6 hours under anaesthetic), both of which are indicators for the formation of blood clots. I therefore had to take a d-Dimer blood test, which could not be performed onsite as they did not have the machine which analyses the results. I would have to go to a different walk-in centre some miles away..

Discouraged, hot and tired I went home for a rest before trekking out again, but fell asleep instead. Tomorrow's another day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.