Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Sunset over Lake Ellesmere

It's been another stunning day out on the Peninsula and thankfully I've been outside for most of it. In between throwing the ball for Jack and Zoey - an unending task if ever there was one - I managed to take many close-up shots of kereru feeding on early berries on our karamu and lemonwood trees that fringe the orchard.

The pigeons looked like youngsters and birds with very little fear of humans; so much so I was able to get within touching distance of them whilst they were gambolling in the shrubs. It's a privilege to be able to get so near to these pretty birds, it's only when you're that close do you see the iridescence of their plumage and the soft downy nature of their white underbellies. They look at you with a keen curiosity and intelligence, almost looking you up and down, sizing you up. The sound of their wingbeat is so distinctive, and it's only when you've been in the downdraft of is that you realise their power. They are spectacular birds, and I'm so thankful to have them here all year round.

So, after waxing so lyrical about the kereru, you're probably wondering why I've posted a lakeside shot. Simple answer in two parts: First, I'm pleased to be able to get out in the car again and to be able walk/hobble out towards the lake, and second, I've rarely seen a sunset so orange and vibrant as I did tonight. It really was one out the box. The stillness and peacefulness at the lake is quite intoxicating, often only punctated by one of many bird calls.

Go large to take it all in

Keen for closeups of the kereru action? If so, whipover to my Blipfolio gallery and check out the album there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.