Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Start!

Actually, it's an American Redstart (Setophaga ruticilla), a member of the warbler family and one that breeds in New Jersey. This one is a female, most likely a young one. While I was having tea on the patio this morning, she flew up and posed for about 45 seconds in the cherry tree, not more than 15 feet from me. Very cool as I don't often see these small birds.

Thank you for the wonderful comments on my portrait of Kura yesterday. She is so pretty, and so natural in front of a camera that she made my part very easy. I've made her promise to let me shoot her again.

We had a wonderful weekend which was continued today when another member of our "sisterhood" came by on her way from Corning to NYC for lunch on the deck. Peggy (an occasional Blipper and dear friend) lives most of the year in China with several trips to the States each year. So, it's always a treat to see her. She's having dinner with Kura tonight in the City - wish I could join them, but hopefully next time...

Loads of butterflies in the garden today, along with at least a dozen hummingbirds darting to and fro, and Papa cardinal putting in an appearance with one of the recently fledged cardinal kids. I've posted six shots on Flickr, starting HERE.

I'm thinking of blipping a week of hummingbirds... so brace yourselves!

Happy Monday!

xxoo
Debbi

PS: And it looks like this may be a new entry for the BlipBigYear!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.