Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

A Memorable Moment in History

I hoped to post a photo today of some red balloons. Joe, Blip Central, I love you guys, but it didn't happen today. I did post a big "3" yesterday. I guess I should have included just one not several of those "3"s because it didn't make much of an impression. Oh well, oh crap, someday I'll figure out this Blip place--no I won't! I think you guys are so terrific; someday I'll figure out a way to clearly express my sincere-est appreciation, but so far I fall way too short.

Today Mr. Fun & I went to the medical city of Loma Linda, California (near Redlands) because we have a friend who was admitted to Loma Linda Vets Hospital several weeks ago with pneumonia. He's since been told that he has cancer in his lungs, kidney, liver, spleen, bones, and anywhere else you can think of. Not sure that he will live through the week. Watching his wife and watching him (when his eyes were open) watch his wife, was an extremely electric moment. As we left there, the sign on the bank building read 111 degrees F. It is so hot here our shoes were melting on the pavement.

I am posting a collage of Walter Cronkite because he died several days ago and the TV special this evening was a serious reminder of the importance of history. Cronkite reported so much of what we've lived through. He was a welcomed guest nightly at our family's dining table as we grew-up before we married each other and invited him to our own dining table. He took us through the John Kennedy tragedy, the Beatles, first men in space and man on the moon, the Vietnam War, Bobby Kennedy's assasination, Martin Luthern King, and on and on. Tonight's TV special was quite good.

Okay, I'll try to do another Blip Birthday photo tomorrow. Mr. Fun is on vacation this coming week and we're trying to do a "staycation" (at home vacation), but that's almost impossible with the constant interruption of the phone.

Good night from a boiling HOT Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun) aka, Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.