AN EARLY START

cycling through the dunes northwards. En route to the dentist.
Early because I wanted to look for the blue seaholly plants and the butterflies that I now know are visiting the flowers of them.
I found some and took some pictures.
Crossing the canal near Scheveningen I saw a wonderful cormorant standing on a pole in the water, wings out for drying in the sun.
It took the dentist one and a half hour to do the root canal treatment. Dizzy and tired I came out the building.
My next stop was the new building where Mischa's work was moved to. She showed me around, and of course I loved to see her workplace and some of her colleagues too.
A carrot (wortel in dutch, how appropriate after my treatment) soup and a little roll for me to eat and tea for both of us.
I decided to cycle the same route back, because I wanted some more pictures.
I stopped at the same spot and started.
After some time two motorcyclists of the enforcement, not police really (on electric motors, so they did not make any sound) stopped near me. I looked at them and they said: these seaholly plants are protected!
I answered that I was very well aware of that fact.
And told them I was photographing the butterflies upon the flowers, because there were so many beautiful ones on them.
It was plain enough and they said so that theyhad thought that I intended to take some plants with me.
They are rare and protected! they said again.
I told them where I had seen other plants yesterday too.
They indicated another place where many seahollies grew near the little beachcombermuseum not far from where I stood. I thanked them for the hint, cycled a bit further and found the place but they were mostly behind fenches.
But I did my best and here is a creature I found on the flower.
I was utterly surprised to see the 'face' on her back cloth. In my little book I will look for her name! Later, because I am tired now.

My haiku:

All want a taste of it
The blue, the brown, the spotted too
How would it taste I wonder

And the proverb from Pascal:

Wo/man is but a reed, the weakest in nature, but she/he is a thinking reed.

Edit: Thanks to sgwarnog I can identify the butterfly as a: silver-y-moth, in german: Gamma Eule, in dutch: gamma-uil. Latin name: autpgrapha gamma.
Thank you sgwarnog very much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.