I'd do that for a sausage...

I went to see Henson Alternative's Puppet Up at Assembly Hall tonight. I was supposed to go with my friend Hannah, but she wasn't feeling well so Mum to the rescue! My mum drove up from the Scottish Borders to see the show with me. I'm really pleased that she did - we had a wonderful night and thoroughly enjoyed the puppet show.

Like many, I grew up with Henson's puppets. I wasn't a big muppet fan, but I did love Labyrinth and Dark Crystal. I was particularly thrilled that the encore sequence tonight was something that I recognised from Labyrinth.

Henson Alternative's Puppet Up is the adults-only wing of The Jim Henson Company. Think the muppets, but filthy versions - there was even a special Bond villain in the form of Gary the Muffeater.

This is the only show that I've ever been to where I was dying to be the audience participator. One girl, got to go on stage, play with the puppets, do some improv and then she got a free sausage puppet to take home. I'd do that for a sausage!!

A brilliant show, that was in fact like watching 3 shows - the screen, the puppets and the puppeteers. I'd definitely recommend this to all (although you have to be 16+ to get in).

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.