Culture vs. Society

Tonight I went to the Museum Lates night at the National Museum of Scotland. It's basically an evening where you get to be in the museum after hours, can visit the exhibitions, do some activities and see some performances.

The evenings are usually themed around the current exhibition. I've been before to the Catherine the Great night and the Dinosaur night. At the moment, it's the Ming Dynasty. However, it's also the fringe, so instead we got a showcase of fringe shows.

Fairly randomly we saw the Ming exhibition, learnt about Ancient Egyptian amulets, watched some comedy, skipped the Mongolian grunge music, and finished with the Haka (pictured).

My favourite moment of the evening? This conversation from the people behind during the Haka:

Her: they're quite menacing aren't they?
[pause]
Her: they look almost aboriginal...
Him: I think they're from Australia
Me (thinking): idiots, your stupidity is about to make my ears bleed!

Put down your beer and go and learn something before the museum closes for the night! This is why I shouldn't be allowed out. Thanks to Nanisa, David, Sheila, George, Alison and Phil for putting up with me and for a lovely evening!

Ps. Sorry the picture is slightly blurry, but you try getting a Maori Warrier to stand still when he's performing the Haka.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.