Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

I've got my eyes on you!

Yep, all of 'em. With apologies to all you folks who don't like spiders, but this one is so tiny that you'd have a hard time spotting him at all. And you'd never see those eyes without a magnifying glass ... or a macro lens. All I know about the little guy is that he's a jumping spider and he lives in the dahlias with some of his buds. And, as much as it shocks me (a lifelong arachnaphobe) to say this, I think he's pretty cute!

Speaking of spiders... some of you remember Brunhilda the Nursery Web Spider who raised her spider-tots in the garden recently. Well, apparently one of her cousins is attempting to build a nursery in my mint! Yeow! I am going to have to relocate this one - I use the mint a lot in cooking and I am not far enough along on my fear-of-spiders recovery to be able to stick my hand in the mint and come out with a great big scary looking spider. So, my plan is to clip off the mint leaves she is on and move the entire thing to the flower garden. I'm going to need a long pole and leather gloves. Maybe a suit of armor. Or a flame thrower. If you hear screams, it will be me. Or maybe it will be the Hubs - he's not so much a fan of spiders either. Sheesh - it was easier when my solution was to spray insecticides everywhere.

I indulged in some hummer photos this morning and got a couple of shots I'm quite pleased with. I've posted the best two, along with 4 other macros taken today on Flickr, starting HERE.

You guys are making a strong case in favor of buying this lens! I feel myself weakening... In the meanwhile, I'll continue to enjoy the rental through the end of this week!

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.