Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

How do I look?

Correction: I believe this is actually a cricket, not a katydid (added 19 Aug)

I rescued this little katydid from the water fountain on the patio and as soon as he was free of the water, a meticulous cleansing began, starting with each long antenna. Pretty cute! Of course, I'm partial to the little green guys, so maybe it's not cute at all - maybe it's creepy or weird. I'm going with "cute" though.

You very nearly got a spider today. And what's worse? You very nearly got a spider wrapping up it's fly-lunch. But I thought that maybe two days of bug-eating-bug in a row might be too much. However, if you'd like to see the very tiny Orchard Spider and it's even teenier fly-lunch, they are the 3rd and 4th shots on Flickr, starting HERE with an adventurous beetle. A total of six shots from today's macro safari.

And if you are wondering, I am still taking shots of the hummers every day. In fact, Big Daddy and the D90 and I were on the patio for a while this morning. The hummers are in their full pre-migratory feeding frenzy and the action on the patio/deck is non-stop from dawn to dusk. The hummers and the cardinals are among the last of the birds to roost at night and will feed until it is nearly dark. A bit daunting to step out and get buzzed by something you can barely see!

Big news this afternoon - hubs finished SECOND in his class in today's Pro IT race!! This is the best finish he's had in this series, so lots of excitement. He should be home in about 3 hours, and I can't wait to see him. Feels like he's been gone longer than 3 days.

Thank you for all your wonderful comments on my last few blips and for all the encouragement on the new lens. I'm already trying to figure out how I can justify buying it... I just love being able to rent equipment but the downside is that you end up falling in love with the new gear. My justification is that I did a speaking gig last month in NY that netted me enough to pay for the lens ...sheesh, listen to me!

Tomorrow is Monday - get ready!

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.