Barra

After a visit to the castle in Castlebay, the fog began to thin, and magically lift, all across the islands. A most wonderful visit to Vatersay; the machair; the flowers. An old hill fort, the remains of a crashed flying boat from 1944, and glittering seas.
Later, up to the north of the island to an old chapel (above) where Sir Compton Mackenzie is interred. Which reminds me, I got to fondle some of the real whisky bottles from SS Politician yesterday. And, yes, and there's more, just as I was coming past the wee airport, the twin otter took off from the beach and I had my camera at the ready! Top snaps.
Enough, enough. Enough seafood anyway, tonight I've booked a romantic table for twa at the cafe in jumping Castlebay which serves Indian food. About time. Prawn bhuna probably.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.