Poppy

By Poppy

Long in the tooth . . . .

Dental x ray - properly called an Orthopantomograph (OPG) - enabling the dentist to see all of my teeth and jaw. It shows lots of fillings, a few broken back teeth, a bridge and gaps where the odd one has had to be extracted. The main thing is there is no arthritis in my jaw.

The words of my parents ring in my ears - "don't open it with your teeth, you'll break them"! I didn't listen! This tells a story of opening ketchup bottles and the like with my teeth, chomping through a bag of cherries from a Spanish market stall but forgetting about the stones and other forms of neglect and ill treatment I put them through during my "growing up".

Happily, today, nothing needs doing. Everything is stable, no caries, no pain, no decay, the back ones aren't pretty, I could have expensive crowns fitted, but then nobody can see them, they do their job, I can eat perfectly well with them, so I shall keep them clean and leave them alone!

Nice to know that should I meet a grisly end, the police will have a good dental record from which to identify me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.