Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By cdsvfdcs

The changing neighborhood

Part of my One Street Eastlake series. (and my lame attempt at a haiku for a poem with the original interpretation of this series.....)

one more home to lose
the neighborhood is changing
will this be pretty?

This house, scheduled to be demolished this tuesday,will be gone when I get back from the island in about a week. It is next door to Annie’s Hair Shop so I got the latest news when I was getting my hair cut a few days ago. It will be replaced by 4 2200sf 3 story condos that will reach almost to the sidewalk (hence I wanted my “before” picture to show all of the lot so got it from across the street)) and much farther toward Annie’s house. The trees in between will be gone. If you look large under the eaves of Annie’s house to the right you can see scaffolding and a body in dark pants and light shirt, painting. That’s Annie! (I confess I did lighten up that bit so you could see it). The developer got and set up the scaffold for her so she could paint that side of the house before it became too difficult to get to(and so it would look nice for the people looking out their window 8 feet away!)
This Eastlake neighborhood is deliciously close to downtown and the U district and very desirable right now. I agree that the city needs to “densify”. Annie says these will be good looking, and I think there is some parking in the back. To be recorded later...... There are several “apodments” going up in several places however with rooms for 40 - 120 residents in each. Apodiments are tiny rooms squeezed on small footprints- 7 share one kitchen- and no parking. It’s one solution. The residents are supposed to use the easy available public transportation. It’s going to change the character of this mixed use-mostly older single family homes, some apartments and condos and some businesses. But that’s another subject....later

thanks so much for your concerns about the big lombardy poplar tree that is slated to come down. I will report what happens and surely what will replace it! and also thanks for the early birthday wishes ....

tomorrow we are off to the island for about a week.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.