Cabbagetree

By cabbagetree

Waianiwaniwa Valley

"The Valley of Rainbows"

A momentous day for me. This morning I received a letter informing me that the Notice of Requirement over my property is to be withdrawn. It has been hanging over my head for five years, and before that were three years of rumour, misinformation and threat. My little place was in the way of an immense irrigation scheme, but planning permission for this part of the scheme will not be granted. I should feel jubilant, but for some reason I just feel flat and a bit sad for the last eight years.

This scheme has divided the community. On one side were those who stood to gain and on the other those who were to lose their homes, farms and businesses. Emotions have run high.

Apart from the many hectares that were be taken for settling ponds, canals etc., a 70 metre high dam was to be built just 500 metres from a small township, and the Waianiwaniwa Valley was to be flooded for water storage.

I'm a newcomer here, but some families who were to lose the bulk of their land have been farming here for five generations. That's a long time for a young country such as ours.

While the withdrawal is a relief for many, on the other side are disappointed farmers who have lost their dreams of irrigation on their soil-rich farms in a drought prone district. Winning can be a hollow victory.

The scheme may yet go ahead in a smaller area. There are still people who have a lot to lose who have not been let off the hook.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.