A photogenic face

Roaming around the Saturday Morning Market with camera in hand, I was looking for some victims volunteers willing to let me practice my environmental portraiture on them. One woman, who was selling homemade cookies that looked delicious, caught my fancy, but posing for a photo op didn't catch hers! She hemmed and hawed, but finally said, "No thanks, I just don't like to have my picture taken." I even tried bribery. "Tell you what. I'll make a deal with you. I'll buy a pack of cookies if you let me take your picture." But she wasn't dealing, so I went on my way, still looking for prospects.

Then I saw Tom. Although surprised by my request, Tom was willing to pose. He wasn't a stranger to me like the cookie woman was, but I had never thought of him as photogenic until I had the camera in my hand. Realizing I had been wrong, I quickly snapped off a succession of pictures as he relaxed at "Mike's Outdoor Cafe." Click here to see several pictures of Tom at the cafe. Then, before leaving the market, I went back and bought a half-dozen chocolate cookies to show the cookie lady there were no hard feelings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.