BRENTFORD LOCK

So I was off to London today. Caught the train at 10am and settled in to my First Class seat. Food was provided so I had a bacon butty, brown toast and BUTTER ( definitely not on the Slimming World plan ) and orange juice.

Read my Kindle during the journey and arrived st Kings Cross more or less on time at 12.57. I had stupidly forgotten my Oyster Card so I had to queue up to get a ticket for the tube to Hounslow. I didn't really need any help but a member of staff offered so I said OK. She asked where I was headed, pressed a few buttons and told me to put £4.50 into the slot. Ticket bought and I went off to catch the tube.

Managed to get a seat for the journey and arrived in Hounslow about 45 mins later. Put my ticket in the barrier to get out of the station - wouldn't work. Had to go to ticket office. The chap said I had underpaid and I had to pay another £1. So much for that helpful member of staff at Kings Cross.

Two min walk to Travelodge but I couldn't book in till 3pm.... unless I paid £10. I was about 1 hour 15 mins early. So I just mooched around Hounslow High Street pulling my suitcase. Wasn't too much hassle. Made a few purchases and headed back to the Travelodge around 3.30pm. Unpacked and changed and around 4.30pm I caught the bus to Brentford to meet my daughter Becky from work. ( Luckily I had remembered to bring my Pensioners Concessionary Bus pass so I got free bus travel )

She arrived around 5 past 5 and we walked down to the River. My blip shows Brentford Lock ( I think ). We walked to Chiswick where we met my son in law Mike. We had pre- dinner drinks in All Bar One and then went to Cote Brasserie.

We had to wait about 5 mins for a table which I didn't find unacceptable - but the restaurant were very apologetic and gave us each a complimentary glass of sparkling Cava ( I think it was ). I gave mine to Mike.

I ordered chargrilled chicken and dauphinoise potatoes. I can safely say it was the most delicious food I have eaten since March. I savoured every yummy mouthful.

After the meal we caught the bus back to Hounslow and went our separate ways.

I managed to get to bed before midnight - unheard of when I am at home.


This is the start of my backblips - I will catch up eventually


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.