Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Lawn Mowing

I was mistaken about The Mother's hospital appointment tomorrow. I thought it was earlier in the day so we did shopping today instead. I also took her to get her hair cut and set but I wasn't paying attention and didn't notice that they hadn't cut it. Such a nuisance for her to have had to go there unnecessarily!

In the afternoon I was without a car and The Mother's grass needed cutting so I got the lawn-mower, grass box and extension cable loaded onto the wheelbarrow.

I wheeled my wheelbarrow to The Mother's bungalow and did the grass. Some wild roses had sprung up in the flower beds. I was having to duck under them with the lawn-mower. Ouch! They caught me, they torn my skin! I fought back with a pair of secateurs! Then blipped a nicer bush!

As I was wheeling my wheelbarrow back home, I stopped to talk to a young neighbour I hadn't met before. I sympathised with the size of garden she was tending while looking after three children. She was tired, her lawnmower had broken down after a couple of laps and it would be a number of days before she could get someone to look at it.

Well there was me looking like a mobile gardner! I had to offer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.