Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Solace Day 6: Feeding Time

A lovely misty morning again when I got up at 6.15am. There was a beautiful flat, calm on the canal.

By 9.30am we had got to our first set of locks at Watford Gap. I was reminded that, 37 years ago, as a young lady on her honeymoon, I ran the narrowboat, Buttercup, aground in a lock pound while my new husband waited helplessly at the lock. I knew how to do nothing but cry! Thankfully, there was a lock-keeper who came and pushed me from his garden, out of the mud, with a long pole.

There were no such dilemmas today!

We had two long tunnels to go through today , apart from that, I have to say, this is the best 6 consecutive days of beautiful I have known on the canals.

No canal holiday is complete without a bit of swan-feeding. It was feeding time for us and feeding time for them. The missing fingertip is nothing to do with these pecking birds!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.