sp33dway

By sp33dway

runiversary

I ran the Hoylake 10k today, which last year was the first race I ever entered when I started running. It's a mostly flat 'Hobbit' run (To There And Back Again) but the weather was shocking, the first 5k being ok-ish and the return leg battering everyone with head-on gusts of wind and rain and grittybittysand akin to running through wet cement in a giant wind turbine on a beach. I went into convulsions of tears at the finish (mostly because of the personal reason why I started running in the first place) and then...

...celebrated my finishing time of 58minutes-ish!!!

The official time hasn't yet been published and I was a bit late stopping my Strava-linked Garmin watch but whilst I'm over the moon I can't use the time as my official 10k PB because the race isn't accredited by the Athletics Association, which is a bit bums to say the least.

Next on the list is the Flintshire 10k in October, an officially recognised race up a 20% average gradient climb of 600ft for the first half, then back down a steepishlynarrow country lane. I'm not expecting to beat my 10k PB in that, but it'll be fun giving it a bluddy good go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.