Our Journey is a process

By journeysprocess

The Moth that wants to be a Hummingbird

Today was a last day in Vail. We took a walk in the warm sunshine knowing that we were leaving to go back to heavy rains. Vail is wonderful because there a flower pots, flower beds, hanging pots, etc. everywhere from the spring through the fall seasons. But today I noticed an addition flitting from flower to flower. At first I thought it was a hummingbird. It seemed the same size, but something didn't quite right. I got out my camera with the zoom lens and started shooting this strange little creature. I notice right away that it had antennae and the proboscis was quite long, longer than an hummer. I started shooting as many pictures as I could. Later, I discovered that it is indeed a moth that mimics hummingbirds.

I found this little creature quite fascinating and thought I would share it with you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.