The second half of life..

By twigs

Dickinson & Morris's

What do people think of when they think of your home town?

Banbury? Banbury Cross

York? The Minster

Brighton? The pier

Edinburgh? The castle

And my home town - Melton Mowbray? Pork pies.

I've been enjoying plenty of the fine food whilst I've been here. The pies I can buy in New Zealand really don't stack up against the 'real thing' which is generally considered to come from this shop.

Needing a bit of exercise, I walked from Tricia's to dad's through town. It brought back lots of memories from days when I walked to and from school and often walked rather than took buses at other times too. It was a bit shocking to see so many shops that had closed and some that were empty and boarded up. Melton was always a thriving market town . . . . . . . it now looks like a shadow of its former self, at least in my eyes. Of course, my eyes are many years older now so my 'reality' may have been distorted.

Dad and Eileen have very kindly arranged things so that I can borrow Eileen's car to head to the Lake District. I love it up there - open space, green, hills and lakes, nature . . . . and of course, dad's side of the family. Looking forward to seeing everyone :) I'll hopefully be able to catch up with a couple of college friends over the next few days too. Should be fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.