The second half of life..

By twigs

UK road trip

Market Day in Melton was always a day I enjoyed so I was looking forward to having a mooch around the street market today . . . . .

The walk to town was cold - then it turned wet - and the market was absolutely not as I remembered it :( Maybe because of the weather, or maybe because of the economic state of the region/country, but the number of stall holders who were trading was tiny compared to earlier years. The market square was less then half full with none of the antiquey or book stalls I remember. One lone vege trader shouting his wares . . . . . "Cauli . . . . 50p a head [or whatever his product and price was]. Get your cauli . . . . . 50p a head"

Headed to dad's where I had lunch before setting of north. Tried to coordinate a meeting time and spot with Barbara who I was at T-Coll with too many years ago but we couldn't quite manage it. Will do on the return journey in a few days.

Onto the A1 North then keep going to Scotch Corner. Turn left then keep going to Keswick. Easy. A journey I've done plenty of times in the past.

Thought about dropping in to see Helen, another T-Coll friend, when I passed Richmond but opted not to today. . . . . but definitely will on my return.

The journey is not much different to a Nelson to Christchurch journey in terms of time, but it is soooooo different in terms of the journney. Motorway or dual carriageway most of the way here which makes for pretty boring driving. Rest at Scotch Corner then over the tops and on to Keswick.

Ahhhhh!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.