Trinity Night Life

I had to deal with a really weird problem at work today, the cause of which is still a bizarre mystery. It's so odd that there is a suspicion that I sabotaged myself by doing a really stupid thing and then completely forgetting about it! But I've kept my cool and my head. I've managed to keep calm - something I wouldn't have been able to do last week.

It was Forrest's last day in the office working for me before he starts back at University next week and as a kind of farewell we went to see Rush this evening, the film about the Formula One rivalry between James Hunt and Nicky Lauda in the 1970s. It was absolutely brilliant, indeed one of the most compelling films I've seen in recent memory. I can unreservedly recommend it - regardless of your interest in motor racing. A superbly cast, acted and written drama around an incredible true story.

I had one surreal moment before seeing the film. I took a couple of minutes to wander around The Light in Leeds, taking a few pictures of course, when I was apprehended by a security guard. I'd heard stories of cameras not being tolerated in these modern shopping spaces so it wasn't a huge surprise. He asked me what I was doing with my camera. I overcame the urge to state the bleeding obvious and simply told him that I was a photographer! He seemed quite satisfied with that response, muttered an "ok" and walked on!!

I guess it's all about confidence. I feel like I can call myself a photographer now and that simple statement seems to lend quite an air of authority. That's how I ended up in the Dance School the other evening on the way to the station. I got chatting to a woman and before I knew what was happening I had been commissioned/commandeered to take some photographs of her very talented daughter - which she was more than happy to have posted here as a blip.

It felt odd saying goodbye to Forrest in Leeds and making my own way home on the train to an empty house. This really is the start of a new era. I took a short detour to get the schedule for the new cinema at the Trinity Centre (as Forrest and I are going to try to have a weekly film date in Leeds) and found myself taking some more pictures - without being apprehended this time. I was rather seduced by this particular scene. I like the lines, the stark contrasts and the voyeuristic feel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.