0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

It has been a while, quite a long time in fact, since I took a stranger photo. Other things had to take priority but I've enjoyed the break.

I was on holiday recently, in Croatia, and although I thought it would be nice to take some stranger portraits there, the opportunities and timing meant that it didn't always work out. Plus I wanted to photograph locals, rather than tourists, and we were always surrounded by the latter, unfortunately!

Saying that, I did get a couple of shots, and here is the first, of the beautiful Maya.

On our first day in Dubrovnik, we entered the old town along with the cruise ship rush. It was a sweltering day, and it hadn't even reached noon yet. Maya was stood at the side of the main gates to the old town selling wooden fans. We stopped to buy one and whilst my wife was busy sorting out the cash I asked for her photo. She spoke perfect English and agreed straightaway.

A moment later, a boy came and sat close to her, and whilst I was in the zone (as it were), I took a few shots of him also. It turned out that he was her nephew. I've uploaded his picture here. He had the most amazing green eyes which I commented on to Maya and she replied by taking off her sunglasses and saying, "Yes, it runs in the family", revealing her, also stunning, green eyes.

I would have liked to get some shots of her without her sunglasses but the crowds were pushing us along and the opportunity passed.

Oh well, I was lucky enough to get a portrait abroad so I was happy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.