elfin

By elfin

Busy

My bodyclock still hasn't quite reset and once again I didn't get to sleep until gone 1am. Not great when my alarm was set for 6am to get a train to London. But had to change plans when I woke to an email from the boss who's in NYC needing some information pretty quickly - decided to skip my morning meeting (which to be honest I wasn't that bothered by and I knew one of my team and some colleagues would be there) and crack on with the boss' request. I was done by 8am - I'm not a morning person so this was a huge achievement for me - and sent to her to wait for feedback. As I was feeling productive I then confirmed dates with the floor man (mid oct) and the decorator (first 2 weeks in November). Am getting really excited about finally starting to get the house how I want it. So get booking your visits end November onwards!!

Then had a strange afternoon - headed to London for a meeting with a bunch of government departments, some ministers and some other industry types. Not something I usually do but was asked to stand in for a colleague. It was a different world. Lots of posturing about who did what and lots of, well, politicking. Think I represented company and myself ok but not something I'd want to do on a regular basis as it was quite dull. Amusingly was sat next to someone from health nhs who wasn't really practising what I'm sure he preaches as he was rather fat rotund.

A far better day than yesterday and think I've achieved quite a lot. Also got my flight for next week's trip moved from Sunday to Monday - means no time to explore but I get a whole weekend at home. Yay.

TS: I cheated! Repeated a pair as I needed to get my 'political' look right. And I have no idea if I did as it was mostly old fellas in suits and ties (who wears suits and ties now!) and the few women were in a mixture of business dress. But I felt good and that's all that matters.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.