12 YEARS

12 years ago today my husband Douglas passed away. He had such a big personality and his passing left a big void in our lives. Strangely enough Becky and Neil have been doing things today which he would have approved of.

Neil has gone to watch Newcastle Falcons play rugby. Douglas was a keen rugby player in his youth - played out in Palestine, then for the Metropolitan Police and then for the insurance company he worked for. Becky has taken part in the Ealing half marathon - she did it in 1 hour 59 mins and she is as pleased as punch to do it in under 2 hours. Her husband took 1 hour 35 mins - what a " Billy Whizz " he is. Douglas was mad keen on running - he took part in events all round the Uk and also abroad. So it was fitting ( and pure coincidence ) that Becky and Neil did what they did today.

I love this photo of Douglas as a baby. He always had a good head of hair all his life. Grey of course in the end but still loads of it. His father on the other hand went bald at an early age.

I have just spent the day quietly by myself. I don't usually go to the village on a Sunday but I needed fruit so I decided to pop down. Since all my work yesterday clearing the area around the back gate I decided to use the short cut to the village. It comes out by the Glebe Sports Club where the cricket and football teams are based. No games on today but there was a Family Fun Day. Lots of people about and I could see there were children's rides, bouncing castle, ice cream man etc. Football was being played on the recreation ground - pub teams - and there were a lot of very vocal supporters present. I made a quick trip to Tesco and was home within the hour. The weather is dry, bright and sunny but rather chilly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.