Beeing in Las Vegas

Our last morning in USA was spent packing 4 enormous suitcases, and taking them and ourselves along to a friend's place, ready for a photographic shoot with a couple of physique models. We were late because the packing took far longer than we anticipated.

Then the models didn't turn up anyway, which was SUCH a blessing. We spent a terrific couple of hours gossiping about the bodybuilding scene in Germany and in USA. It was a lovely relaxing time, with a wonderful brunch, in the company of great friends. Naturally we picked last night's Mr. Olympia show to pieces, but we all agreed that, on the whole, it was a good event. It was a sell-out too, about 9,000 in the audience.

Aaaanyway, no surprise that I caught up my camera with the 100 mm macro lens and went bug hunting. I found a bush, that was laden with really insignificant looking pale-ish yellow tiny blooms, that was a bee magnet. I saw your regular honey bees, and thought that would have to be it, but after a few minutes I realized that there must have been at least 4 species of bee, ranging from the almost microscopic to your normal size honey bee. And they were working hard.

Then I caught a smidge of bright blue/green out the corner of my eye. Flying very fast. I got really excited when I managed to fire off a few frames of this snazzy little beauty. I reckon he looks like a Las Vegas native. Very flashy! You can see a more expansive view of the garden in the Rower's journal.

Then - the airport, and a flight to L.A., and another flight to Sydney, Adelaide and home.

And thanks so much for all your comments on my bodybuilder from the Mr. Olympia. Despite the fact he was simply huge, he didn't win, although he made the top 10. The winner was rather more symmetrical. I do have to reassure you though - he wasn't wearing a thing, just brief posing trunks. It was all very demure really.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.