Off to Work

Well these guys are - I'm on holiday! This is taken at 7.30 this morning as the local Islanders headed past my beachfront fale on their way to work on the mainland (Tongatapu).

Today has been wonderful. Started the day with a rest on the front verandah, followed by an open air breakfast of fresh island fruit. Another rest, this time on the beach, and then it was time for a visit to the local village and a walk back around the island. Lunch was raw local fish, poached octopus and salads.

Another nap was necessary in order to recoup energy to go snorkelling in the afternoon. My first time snorkelling - it was beautiful but somewhat overshadowed by the humour of my performance when trying to regain the boat. At this point I considered another rest, but instead had my first go at sea-kayaking. Once again a great experience which I hope to follow up with a dawn kayak tomorrow.

Of course after both snorkelling and kayaking, it was definitely time for a wee rest. The verandah beckoned and I read my book with my eyes shut.

Heading up to the main fale for tea the sunset was amazing and explains why this is called the "Royal Sunset Island Resort". I took another 50 photos as I walked up the beach but I had already decided on today's blip so hope for similar light tomorrow evening for more photos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.