Glory Be

It snowed fresh on the hills around Tekapo last night. Then the sun came out this morning. What a fantastic sight!

The sky was so big and the scene so beautiful. Even this seagull was having a fantastic time soaring overhead.

Taken from the lakefront by the Church of the Good Shepherd - here is the same scene taken through the church window.

I had to wait in Tekapo today for the glaziers to come out to replace my back window that was broken yesterday. And yes, it was a cold night with the new snow falling and me only having plastic over the rear window! The first time I've had to use the heater on this trip.

While I was waiting, Kiwilizzie came through the township on her way home to the deepest darkest south, so we had a blip meet over lunch.

I had been undecided whether to stay in Tekapo another night or not, but in the end decided that although I love the place, I don't love the motorcamp (too big and full of people for me). The weather was packing in again too so once the window was replaced I headed north - driving through a couple of great hail storms.

I was hoping to stop in Kimbell or Burke's Pass but neither had stopping places so I'e come through to Fairlie. A good choice - only half a dozen other vans here and lovely park setting. Now I'm relaxing out in the late sun with a cup of tea in hand, a blanket over my shoulders (the sun is nice but the air is COLD), and my laptop on my knee.

I really do like this camper life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.