Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

PINK DAY 16 - MY FRIEND, LINDA

I have been into school this morning and had blipped lots of different things for today, and I had also seen many other PINK things on my walk after school in the rain, but when I met my Bulgarian friend, Linda, I saw that she was wearing a PINK jumper, which fits in very well with the Breast Cancer Awareness Month challenge, so I asked permission to "blip" her again and she happily agreed.

I haven't seen Linda for several weeks now, but whenever we meet up, we never stop chatting - I want to hear all the news about her family, many of whom still live in Bulgaria, and she likes to hear about my family. She is such a lovely lady and I am privileged to be her friend and although there is a big difference in our ages, we get on very well together.

I really do admire Linda and her husband and daughter, who have embraced the British way of life and are happy to live here. I'm not so sure I would find it that easy to live away from most of my family and friends, but they seem very contented because they feel they have a good quality of life here.

Linda has one fault, though, if you can call it a fault - she will never let me pay for the coffee, and whenever I say that it's my turn, she always says "Oh no, it is MY turn!" I don't argue, because I don't want to embarrass her, and know that she is happy to treat me - she sometimes reads my blips, so if you reading this one, Linda - it's my turn next time!!

What sweetness is left in life, if you take away friendship?
Robbing life of friendship is like robbing the world of the sun.
A true friend is more to be esteemed than kinsfolk.
Marcus Tullius Cicero
(106-43 B.C.)


Please click here so that someone can have a free mammogram. Thank you.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.