Party at the Feeder

Just realized that this is the first sighting of this bird so he is now part of the Blip Big Year. I am chuffed! Oops. There is one. But this one is sharper and clearer. Perhaps...

At the feeder we have three red winged blackbirds, a European starling, and a Steller's jay all eating and hanging out together. The red winged blackbirds have been coming in droves lately as they seem to do every fall. Today I decided to catch a photo of them and here they are with buddies. Here's a closer look. The female is on the left and the two males are on the right.

Today Arvin, Helena and I went to see "Gravity." It was a good movie. My only problem with it was that the theater had this fancy sound system (should be good right? Subtle and wide based sound.) Nuh uh! LOUD sound. And LOUDER sound and even LOUDER sound. Ouch! There were times when putting fingers in ears was the only possible way to stay in the theater. Dang I hate that. I am lucky to still have my hearing. And I'm not pleased with settings in which it is in danger. Not to mention that people bring their kids to the movies and that kind of sound can permanently damage their hearing. So not good. We did mention this on the way out but I really don't think most people care. I sure do.

Then we shopped for bird supplies and had a quiet afternoon. I installed a new external drive I bought because my photos are getting too numerous to fit on the ones I have. When I die nobody on Planet Earth will want to go through all those photos. But for now, I enjoy having them all available for use when I need them.

We had left overs for dinner and I talked for awhile to Helena's mom. That went well. Then we called an old fried we haven't talked to for years. Arvin and Helena knew him way back when Arvin was still married to her mom. I met him and his partner later and we instantly bonded. Sadly his partner passed away a year or so ago and now our friend is battling his own health problems. I'm so glad we thought to call him tonight. We had a great talk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.