Trees and Mist

I woke up on Saturday, waiting for the hangover to kick in...

I'm not a big drinker by any means. I used to be able to put them away and I have many 'blanks' from nights from my teenage years and in my early twenties, but as I've got older I find I just fall asleep after a couple of beers! Or if I'm having a really good time and drink more, the hangovers are just dreadful.

I could shake them off when I was younger, but now... invariably they lead to a migraine and it's just not worth it.

There's only one night in recent memory where I've had far too many, felt rotten the next day, but the evening was totally worth the pain and that was in Fort William a few years ago. We were going to climb Ben Nevis but the forecast was for winds of 100 mph on top, so we abandoned the idea. We'd been in a bar after a meal and a band was playing - the band were just brilliant. The guy played guitar like nothing I'd seen before and it would have been a criminal act to leave early. I barely remember getting back to the B&B but I do remember waking and being eternally grateful that the Big Ben was not on the agenda that day...

Friday night was a few beers in Bradford for the leaving do of a colleague, and I really was going to be home for 8pm, but it was just one of those nights of good conversation and laughs that was too good to leave.

By some fate of fortune when I woke I was OK. Not a trace of a hangover... I had quite a lot to do so I was very glad, and I started with a walk to get some misty photo's before it rose to leave a grey day!

After I'd got all my chores done and I settled in for an afternoon of relaxation, then it began... the hangover had at least been good enough to wait until I had nothing to do except wallow...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.